Facts about Cambodia

Currency: Khmer Riel
Khmer, English
about 10 million
Area: 181,035 km2
Adult US$25, under 12 years old US$13, under 2 years old FREE
Country code:
Other useful info:
20 provinces, 172 districts, and 1,547 communes.
Capital: Phnom Penh


Cambodia, officially known as the Kingdom of Cambodia, is a country in Southeast Asia that borders Thailand to the west and northwest, Laos to the northeast, Vietnam to the east, and the Gulf of Thailand to the southwest. The geography of Cambodia is dominated by the Mekong River Tonlé Mékong and Tonlé Sap lake.

The kingdom is a constitutional monarchy with King Norodom Sihamoni as head of state (reigned since 2004) and prime minister Hun Sen as head of government.

Phnom Penh is the kingdom’s capital and largest city, and is the center of political, commercial, industrial and cultural activities. Siem Reap is the gateway to the Angkor region, a main destination for tourism in which are located the temple of Angkor Wat and other Angkorian temples. Battambang, the largest province in northwestern Cambodia is known for its rice production, and Sihanoukville, a coastal city, is the primary sea port and beach resort.



Community-based tourism in Cambodia

Cambodia is a nation built on a long a rich history dating back thousands of years.  Cambodia is fortunate enough to have many lasting examples of this rich history, from the 1st century Funan Era, the Angkor Era, the French colonial era and of… Read more